Semi-final effort for Team Patrón XO Café Incendio – Moves up 3 Positions in Countdown


CHARLOTTE (September 20, 2015)Alexis DeJoria, driver of the Patrón XO Café Incendio Toyota Camry Funny Car, struggled through qualifying. Going into the final qualifying effort, DeJoria was not qualified. However, her crew chief, Tommy DeLago, was calm and collected. He guided her down the track with a 4.208 second pass to easily get DeJoria in the show. Her first opponent: Countdown foe Tim Wilkerson.

Wilkerson, who elected to sit out the final qualifying opportunity, qualified 4th and elected to be the first pair down the track. DeJoria and team were prepared, and laid down her best effort on the weekend. A 4.107 second pass gave her lane choice over Shane Westerfield, who upset Robert Hight, in the second round. DeJoria left on Westerfield and easily guided her Toyota Camry down the track to another round win. DeJorias first semi-final effort since the Western Swing; it could not have come at a better time. She moved from tenth to seventh and the point standings. DeJoria was also on her game on the tree leaving on each of her three opponents on the day, including a class-best. .025 light in the semi-finals.

Well in qualifying things did not look good for us,said DeJoria. but man did we turn it around. We got it turned around and ran some of the best runs of the day. I was able to leave on everyone even when I didnt have the greatest light and then I had a stellar light against Tommy and smoked the tires. Doesnt matter. We moved to seventh in the points going into the second race in the countdown and it feels good.

After 19 races, Team Kalitta nitro race cars have won four events, advanced to ten final rounds and earned three no.1 qualifying positions. Kalitta Motorsports will stay on the road and make their way to St. Louis for the AAA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park.

Alexis DeJoria Driver of the Patrón XO Café Incendio Toyota Camry Funny Car:

No. 13 Qualifier (4.208 sec., 293.54 mph)

E1: DeJoria defeated Wilkerson – 4.107 sec., 301.94 mph to 8.049 sec., 97.48 mph

E2: DeJoria defeated Westerfield – 4.123 sec., 305.49 mph to 6.285 sec., 110.99 mph

E3: DeJoria defeated by Johnson Jr. – 11.537 sec., 82.99 mph to 4.118 sec., 299.33 mph

Funny Car (Unofficial)

1. Del Worsham (2181)
2. Tommy Johnson Jr. (2175)
3. Jack Beckman (2147)
4. Matt Hagan (2133)
5. John Force (2125)
6. Ron Capps (2100)
7. Alexis DeJoria (2071)
8. Robert Hight (2067)
9. Tim Wilkerson (2055)
10. Cruz Pedregon (2042)

Konnekt with Kalitta Motorsports:

For more info about Kalitta Motorsports including exclusive content such as videos, photos and more, please visit #KalittaStrong online –


About Kalitta Motorsports:

Based in Ypsilanti, Mich., Kalitta Motorsports is a Top Fuel and Funny Car drag racing team in the NHRA (National Hot Rod Association) Mello Yello Drag Racing Series. The team was founded and is owned by drag racing icon Connie the Bounty Hunter Kalitta. For more than 50 years, Connie has been involved in the sport as a driver, tuner, and an owner. Kalitta Motorsports is one of the most successful teams in the history of auto racing with five world championships and over 100 national event titles in five different professional drag racing sanctioning bodies since it was established by Connie in 1959.

Del Worsham drives the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car for Team Kalitta. Alexis DeJoria pilots the Tequila Patrón XO Café Incendio Toyota Camry Funny Car. J.R. Todd drives the Jimi Hendrix Foundation Top Fuel dragster while Connies nephew, Doug Kalitta, pilots the Mac Tools Top Fuel dragster. Connie serves as head tuner for all Team Kalitta entries. He is assisted by co-crew chiefs Jon Oberhofer and Nick Boninfante on the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car, by Tommy DeLago and Glen Huszar on the Tequila Patrón XO Café Incendio Toyota Camry Funny Car, and by Jim Oberhofer on the Mac Tools Top Fuel dragster. Connie serves as crew chief on the Jimi Hendrix Foundation Top Fuel dragster.

Associate sponsors on Kalitta Motorsports race cars include Justice Brothers, Kalitta Air, Optima Batteries, Patrón XO Café Incendio, Phoenix Fuel Converter, Red Line Oil, SealMaster, Summit Racing Equipment, Technicoat Companies, TMS Titanium, Toyota and Ziebart.