Alexis DeJoria Racing Qualifying Report- CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals

Alexis DeJoria: Driver of the Kalitta Motorsports Patrón XO Cafe Incendio Toyota Camry

The Results:

  • Q1: 4.069 ET at 306.19 MPH
  • Q2: 4.000 ET at 313.58 MPH (two bonus points for second quickest run of the session)
  • Q3: 5.322 ET at 136.72 MPH
  • Q4: 5.228 ET at 142.25 mph

The Competition:

No. 4 qualifier Alexis DeJoria (LC) vs. No. 13 qualifier Tony Pedregon


Alexis DeJoria, Driver

Well we didn’t do that great today but we’re still in the top half of the field in the No. 4 spot. We have two good runs under our belt from Friday, which gives us lane choice over Tony Pedregon in the first round tomorrow. It’s exciting; we go into race day as the Phoenix defending Funny Car champs, and hopefully we can take that title again this year.

About Alexis DeJoria

Alexis DeJoria, daughter of the famed John Paul DeJoria, co-founder of John Paul Mitchell Systems and proud owner of Tequila Patrόn, is a professional NHRA racecar driver, competing in the nitro Funny Car class on the Kalitta Motorsports team. Alexis drives the Patrόn XO Cafe Incendio-sponsored 2015 Toyota Camry. Alexis, who had all the opportunity in the world to pursue any type of career, felt strongly about following her passion, and her need for adrenaline drove her to pursue the unlikely profession of auto-racing. The determination to ‘blaze her own trail’ continues to drive her and push her to higher levels in male dominated sport of drag racing.

About Kalitta Motorsports

Based in Ypsilanti, Mich., Kalitta Motorsports is a Top Fuel and Funny Car drag racing team in the NHRA (National Hot Rod Association) Mello Yello Drag Racing Series. The team was founded and is owned by drag racing icon Connie “the Bounty Hunter” Kalitta. For more than 50 years, Connie has been involved in the sport as a driver, tuner, and an owner. Kalitta Motorsports is one of the most successful teams in the history of auto racing with five world championships and over 50 national event titles in five different professional drag racing sanctioning bodies since it was established by Connie in 1959.